thursday!

On Friday!

For those of you who don’t know, blogalectic master Jenna St. Hilaire is hosting Thursday Book Questions every Thursday, predictably enough. I’ve been participating when I can (read: Fridays), and thought you all might enjoy getting in on the actions. This week covers questions 21-25 (I think there’s 100 all told?) and I had a lot of fun answering.

So here’s the questions, and my answers below. Pipe in and give your own answers in the comment thread. If you want, follow the link above and find the previous 20 questions—answer any or all them here. Or, according to the rules, post your answers on your own blog and supply the appropriate link.

Without further ado:

Questions:

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?

22. Favourite genre?

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?)

24. Favourite biography?

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?

My answers:

21:
If I feel that a book I like will be enjoyable, thought-provoking, comforting, or an experience of beauty to someone I’m talking with.

22:
Folklore, Fantasy, and Fairy Tale.
23:
Hard SF.

24:
Probably C. S. Lewis’s Surprised by Joy, although Humphrey Carpenter’s Tolkien changed my life.

Actually, scrap that answer to 24–I just remembered:
Real 24:
Nelson Mandela, The Long Walk to Freedom. Read it. Read it, read it, read it. Everyone needs to read this book.

25:
The best, How to be Funny: An Extra-Silly Guidebook, by Jovial Bob Stine. (Yes, that Robert L. Stine.) A send-up of the genre that’s actually funny. Though the "I learned a lot from this book!" reviews are frankly worrying. (The activities in the book call for items commonly found in any home, such as a wet llama.)

The worst, Winnie-the-Pooh on Management: In which a Very Important Bear and his friends are introduced to a Very Important Subject, by Roger E. Allen. He obviously enjoys the Pooh books, and as a bit of fanfic it’s not unkind. But—don’t read this book. It will make you cry. Please.

[OK, I ‘fessed up—now it’s your turn! I’ll look forward to reading your thoughts.]

3 thoughts on “thursday!

  1. Fifty-five, I think, Mr. Pond–unless I can think up another 45 in the next six weeks. 😀

    My answers are here (I thought about copying and pasting them in here, but I didn’t want to redo all the bold and italic tags. :P)

  2. I really want to read more Hard SF too. I dipped into it a bit 5 years ago when I took a Sci Fi Lit class in undergrad. When it’s well-done, it’s very cool indeed.

    Also, my answers are linked to from within the comments thread on Jenna’s blog 🙂

  3. Ah, I am often logged into WordPress when I comment, as is the case with my previous comment, and that account links up to the blog at my library where I work, not to my personal blog. That’s what comes of having multiple internet personalities I guess.

Leave a Reply

