grammarring: holidays acknowledged

Happy National Grammar Day! It’s a holiday today, depending on what part of the world you’re in. Depending on your frame of mind, you can use punctilious grammar all day today. Or you can find a grammar rule and break it.

Regardless, we urge all those who delight in the celebration of grammar to keep in mind John McIntyre’s admonition not to ‘correct people’s grammar or pronunciation publicly,’ and to ‘learn [Ed. note: or invent] a new word every chance you get’ (see the heading above). And we join McIntyre in imploring you to ‘Honor and esteem people like Ben Zimmer and Jan Freeman and Mignon Fogarty and the merry band at Language Log and all the others who write about English with intelligence, affection, and force.’

Now, the sad news.

February 26 was Tell A Fairy Tale Day, and I missed it. I think I was asleep. Blog Fail. The only remedy is for you all to tell someone a fairy tale today.

Tell someone a fairy tale on National Grammar Day. It’s a beautiful thing.

A wonderful Sabbath to you all.

3 thoughts on “grammarring: holidays acknowledged

  1. Everyone please rise for the national anthem of National Grammar Day:

    Ohhhhh,
    If you want it to be a possessive,
    It’s just I-T-S,
    But if it’s supposed to be a contraction,
    Then it’s I-T-apostrophe-S!
    Scalawag!

  2. Hey, how’s life in the Mitherland, are ye learnin the Scots leid? I’m still at BZ. And I just had to comment on a post that encourages people to invent new words. I do that all the time — whole languages worth. Dear old Prof. Tolkien mightn’t have liked some of my odder languages, but he would have understood the mania!

    I’ve been reading your stuff as I come across it. I really enjoyed Ragabones and just finished reading the one about the duck named Outcast (which is how I found your blog). Keep it up. I have a sonnet which will be published some month (before too long I hope!) in Asimov’s magazine. It’s my first sale.

    Well, back to other things I need to be doing.

    Adam

  3. Eric

    Y-O-U-R,
    Y-O-U-apostrophe-R-E,
    They’re as different as night and day.
    Don’t you think night and day are different?
    What’s wrong with you?

    Adam–welcome! My Scots isn’t what it should be, but I’m glad you’ve been enjoying my stories, regardless. And glad you’ve found your way here to Paradoxes. Congratulations–very!–on breaking into print, and into Asimov’s! Wow, well done, man. Give our best to all at BZ!

Leave a Reply

