unsettling wonder

Household Tales: A Read-Through

The Handless Maiden

illus-110a nd the knights and ladies were changed.

(The Gold of Farnilee)

You mock me with your piety. You scour
away the lawful grief which those who weep
must hope to bear. So I will sit, and keep
my fears, my peace, my dark and waking hour.
Nor will I bow and neither bend to dour
and dismal creed. You cannot make it right.
Blame the devil, curse the dark and midnight,
but I must bear the silver hands, the power
to not forget. Do not call me Devil,
call me Sorrow, and I will ease your pain.
Attribute, if you wish, to angels wrongs
you think that I have done. But no evil
can bear a child, or dream, or regain
the beauty and the madness hid in lasting songs.

Leave a Reply

