craft

a blogalectic

The next instalment of the Impressions series can be found at Jenna St. Hilaire’s post “Glitter and Buttons,” and Masha’s “Craft: Witch and Otherwise.” Jenna found her impression of “craft” to be the sewing, scrapbooking type, whereas Masha’s has constituted the occultic, hermetic variety. They have, alas, pre-empted me at both turns.

I shall write my further impressions in the following days, as coalescing deadlines leave me for the moment wordless. For today, my readers, I leave it to you: what is it about this word that it initial impression conjures with it a stereotype of—shall we say—ladies of a certain age?

2 thoughts on “craft

  1. As someone fast approaching the “ladies of a certain age” stage (okay, 43 is not 65+, but sometimes it feels that way…), I had to laugh out loud at your parting words, Mr. Pond. Yes, the word ‘craft’ conjures everything that Jenna and Masha have already said, plus something else: functionality. Crafts are hand-made, unique items that have lots of love put into them, but they are always useful. If it’s not useful–at least not in the conventional sense of being put to use as an everyday functional item to wear, drink out of, etc.–then it would slip over to the ‘art’ side of things.

    This kind of lovely and love-crafted functionality has the ring of lived embodiedness about it that I find very appealing. It’s not necessarily uplifting or exalted, but comfortable and comforting.

    As I look back over the previous two paragraphs, I realize this doesn’t quite cover the idea of ‘crafting’ sentences, etc. in writing that Jenna mentions–oh well, I have to think more about that angle.

  2. I think you’re right, Carrie-Ann, when “craft” is being used as a noun. I think the sense that we didn’t really get to is “craft” as a verb–as in, crafting sentences, if you well. And there it’s almost a cop-out term, or perhaps more accurately linguistic shorthand, for saying that care and attention has been put into the sound and structure and internal harmonies and precision of a given sentence. That’s what I take it to mean, anyway. And a “craft” in the noun sense, something made for “everyday use,” certainly contains a potential to become art, certainly to become folk art–think of quilting, for example. It’s an intriguing distinction, though.

Leave a Reply

