narcissistic

It’s all about me.

This blog post, I mean. And please don’t blame me, because it’s really not my fault. Jenna St. Hilaire, whom you may know from the blogaletic or the Blogengamot or other places beginning with blog, has been an heroic champion for the cause of shameless narcissism. Shameless, because in this case there’s really nothing wrong with a little me-indulgence.

In fact, if you think about it, I’m doing you a favour, by telling you all about all my amazing awesomeness. Right?

Just. Kidding.

What’s not kidding is that it’s all about me, and having been duly tagged I need to tell you ten random tidbits about myself, which shall be no trouble because I’m sure as soon as I open my mouth I shall say three very dull things indeed. Repeat, repeat, only need to think of one.

Anyway, with a salute to LiveJournal and in no particular order:

  1. I am involved in some very exciting projects I can’t tell you about yet. They involve writing.
  2. I am sure you are at the right place to be let in on the secrets when the time is right.
  3. I have never fainted, not even on choir tour, although I have occasionally wanted to.
  4. When I was younger, I had chronic difficulty with punctuality. It made me several enemies. I wish that was exaggeration.
  5. At the moment I’m sitting on a very expensive Afghan rug that doesn’t belong to me; our landlord sells rugs and thought the flat needed one. I didn’t complain.
  6. I am a lucid dreamer, which might explain more about my fiction than I would like it to. Several of my stories have been based on dreams; a good many more include dreams.
  7. I am a self-sorted Ravenclaw, and have some anxiety that the Sorting Hat at Pottermore.com might put me in another house. I will be really quite upset if that happens.
  8. When I was an undergrad I had a long beard and short hair, because that’s what I could get away with. Now I have a trim beard and a pony tail down my back, mostly because I have a very nice razor but am too lazy and/or tight-fisted to go the barber.
  9. I am the only person in my department who wears a tie to work everyday. When I finally break down and buy a bow tie, I will wear that at least once a week. I’m on something of a quiet crusade against informality.
  10. . That said, I am probably the sort of person who would chronically wear black and listen alternately to very threatening and precociously loud music. But by dint of upbringing and circumstance I became the sort of person who wore jeans and flannel shirts and listened alternately to NPR and the Country station. When I left undergrad, I morphed into a different sort of person,who wears tweeds and listens alternately to highbrow classical and They Might Be Giants.
  11.   And here’s a freebie because you’ve been good:
    I’m something of a medieval re-enactor—the kind that’s fussy about authenticity and reads arcane swordsmanship handbooks just for fun; a lot of my colleagues are in Regia Anglorum, but I’m not quite ready to tie myself down to that narrow a period. I’m reasonably comfortable with single-handed sword, and rather foolishly pleased of my increasing confidence with two-handed spear. Perhaps the ideal weapon combination for me is sword and dagger, although I plan to study sword and shield, and hopefully hand-axe. That said, it’s no fun getting hit in the gut with the edge of a round shield, even when it was accidental and the person accidentally hitting you was at the same time accidentally hitting himself in the nose. Re-enacting, just to clarify, is marginally safer than golf.

If you’ve read this and want to be tagged, consider yourself tagged. You are, as the saying goes, it.

4 thoughts on “narcissistic

  1. …it’s no fun getting hit in the gut with the edge of a round shield, even when it was accidental and the person accidentally hitting you was at the same time accidentally hitting himself in the nose.

    HAHAHAHAHAHA! Ah, the things they never tell you in fantasy novels.

    I am probably the sort of person who would chronically wear black and listen alternately to very threatening and precociously loud music. But by dint of upbringing and circumstance I became the sort of person who wore jeans and flannel shirts and listened alternately to NPR and the Country station. When I left undergrad, I morphed into a different sort of person,who wears tweeds and listens alternately to highbrow classical and They Might Be Giants.

    And that is why we are friends. I swear, I went through that exact process… except that for me it probably would have been emo-Goth to start, and now I listen to nerdy wizard rock and anime themes and electronica with the classical. And the classical is mostly Lou’s; he just listens to it a lot, and I’ve learned to enjoy it with him. 🙂

    Thanks for accepting the tag!

  2. ” ‘I am probably the sort of person who would chronically wear black and listen alternately to very threatening and precociously loud music. But by dint of upbringing and circumstance I became the sort of person who wore jeans and flannel shirts and listened alternately to NPR and the Country station. When I left undergrad, I morphed into a different sort of person,who wears tweeds and listens alternately to highbrow classical and They Might Be Giants.’

    And that is why we are friends. I swear, I went through that exact process… except that for me it probably would have been emo-Goth to start, and now I listen to nerdy wizard rock and anime themes and electronica with the classical. And the classical is mostly Lou’s; he just listens to it a lot, and I’ve learned to enjoy it with him. ”

    ..I knew we had a lot in common! I WAS that person, and obviously still Love black and “dark” music, along with NPR, ‘brighter’ classical, and really, any genre, so long as its good, interesting, or amusing (preferably all three.) How fun!

  3. Were I still blogging, I would indeed tag myself….

    And yes yes yes to #7! I agonized over Ravenclaw vs. Gryffindor, and finally accepted my Ravenclawness (Ravenclavity?). I am very apprehensive about finally receiving my Pottermore email and being sorted…..

  4. HAHAHA! Yes, Ravenclavity is exactly the right word. Thanks, Janet!

    Masha and Jenna: aren’t you glad we didn’t all go to the same high school? 😉

Leave a Reply

