motiveless

Not a blogalectic

Flannery O’Connor has this to say about art:

Art is wholly concerned with the good of that which is made; it has no utilitarian end. If you do manage to use it successfully for social, religious, or other purposes, it is because you made it art first…

Masha concurs, and so do I. So heartily do I concur, in fact, that I’m bowing out of the blogalectic for this week. Masha has said most everything I would care to, so if this piques your interest I can do no better than send you to her post.

Instead, I’ll treat you all to a public service announcement:

I am delighted to report that Paraxis 03 has been published, and is available for your reading pleasure. And I’m also delighted to announce that it has my article “Stories and Shadows” in. The article is about metamorphosis, and storytelling, and George MacDonald, and other lovely things, and it’s a piece I’m particularly proud of. And I’m proud to be part of this wonderful zine.

Go read it. I’ll not delay you.

And have a good weekend while you read.

One thought on “motiveless

  1. Thanks for linking to your “Stories and Shadows,” Mr. Pond! There are at least two things that I connected with. The first is one of the quotations about how one becomes larger in the sky and stars. That’s the exact feeling I got when I visited the south rim of the Grand Canyon with my family. We went at around three o’clock in the morning, so that we could see dawn break over the mountaintops. The pre-dawn immensity of the night sky with millions of stars that I could see for the first time in my life made me want to fling my arms wide open and fly amidst the stars–like my soul was able to expand and breathe deeply. MacDonald’s story with the man flying through the stars captures that experience. (The daybreak with birdsong welcoming the first rays of light shooting over the mountaintops was an altogether different, but awe-inspiring experience as well.)

    Also, your rich description of the liminality of shadows and where/when they exist sounds a lot like how you and Jenna and Masha describe your creative processes. I’m not a creative writer and do not typically identify with night-time, but as a philosopher I think that some of my best ideas arise in broad daylight when hiking at noon in the open fields and woods and I let the scent and sky and sound of the trees rush together with the ideas I’ve been mulling. They all swirl and play together until a glimmer of insight offers me a turn of phrase that serves as the kernal of an article. So long as I stay true to the kernal and let the formal structure grow out of that, I’ve got something of worth to work with. The glimmer is just that, though, and it cannot be forced, much like the shape/form of a Shadow. If one tries to grab at it with quick motion, it slips away without a trace like a wet bar of soap gripped too firmly….

Leave a Reply

