Mr. Pond in print

One of my favourite literary journals is New Fairy Tales. It’s dedicated to finding and publishing—not retellings, but genuinely new fairy tales. New accounts of travel and wonder from across the shadowy border of the Perilous Realm.

So I am honoured and delighted to announce that my short story ‘Ragabone’ has just been published in Issue 5.

You can view Issue 5 here, and I strongly urge you do. It’s an exquisitely beautiful issue, and I’d say that even if I didn’t have a story appearing in it. Here’s the trailer to whet your imagination:

 

Go read ‘Ragabone’, and the rest of New Fairy Tales, Issue 5. Then, please, report back here and let me know what you think.

8 thoughts on “Mr. Pond in print

  1. Oh Mr. Pond! What a lovely, lovely story! I loved it with all my heart! I will read it to my Dad tonight. It was so beautiful. It brought a tear to my eye and a catch in my throat.

    What happens to Ragabone next? I want more, more, more. Please tell us more.

    I want a book of your fairy tales.

  2. Congrats and bravo! It’s been quite a ride to watch the process from the beginning.

    The illustrations were an unexpected and lovely touch–Rackham meets Cruikshank.

  3. Joivre— thanks! It means a lot to me that you liked it enough to want to share it with your dad. And I loved the illustrations, too!

    Eric, thanks again. Too bad they didn’t give me a dedications page… 😀

  4. What a beautiful little story! I loved the character of Ragabone and enjoyed the little township as well. The tale’s ending took me totally by surprise. 🙂

    Congratulations on its publication! I’m liking this new journal; if the rest is consistent with my short foray into it, it is both excellent and fascinating.

  5. Hello John,

    Interesting that you had a fusion of prose and poetry commentaries in response to Mike McDuffee’s ‘As If, If’, which I enjoyed following.

    And as you seem to have a liking for the UK, with ‘Daddism’ and the Guardian’s ‘Fairytales’, you may be interested in the ‘Sussex Centre for Folklore, Fairy Tales and Fantasy’ [http://sussexfolktalecentre.org/].

    Peter

Leave a comment